top of page
Search
  • Abbie Bauckham

What I wish I knew as a fresher?

If lockdown has been useful for one thing, other than the need to restrict growth of the pandemic, it has been reflection. Having lots of extra time on my hands has been the perfect time for personal and professional reflection. Reflection can come in many forms and is sparked by a quiet moment or a sudden memory. I was sparked by Dolly Alderton’s new agony aunt column in the Sunday times. Amongst her beautifully written prose and honest advice there was a line: “I think life is one long collection of mistakes (loads), inevitabilities (many) and triumphs (some).”

This line stuck with me. Both personally and professionally you shouldn’t be scared or worried to make mistakes. They happen often. They are a learning process. It did however make me think, if everyone makes mistakes why should people repeat mine. I should help others make my mistakes their triumphs. Mistakes are inevitable, everyone will make them but let’s make them new ones.

As a first-year student (or as many of us are, were or will be ‘freshers’) I knew nothing. You can try to prepare but it’s the extra bits of information from your fellow university students that make starting and fitting into university that little bit easier. So, here are my top tips, for all of you not quite freshers (find specific ones for law students on my blog: the transition from first to second year of university.)

1. University goes so fast. Make the most of all the opportunities that are offered.

2. Make your room look nice (whether it’s your room at home or your student accommodation). It makes a different. You want to feel comfortable and at home. Remember pictures of friends and family.

3. Take a speaker (my flatmates may disagree as I probably overused it- all part of my charm) but it is a great way to start conversation and perfect for prees or a chill night.

4. Be open minded about who to befriend. Don’t worry if they are not your flatmates. You can meet people all over. Societies, lectures and even the library.

5. Take advantage of the opportunities offered but don’t feel the need to do them all. Make time for yourself too.

6. Keep on top of your studies. Print of a timetable so you know when you need to be on campus.

7. Contribute in your first seminar. I found that once I spoke once it was a lot less daunting. Maybe try and set yourself personal goals of how much to contribute if this is something you know you will struggle with.

8. Talk to and use lecturer’s office hours.

9. Read feedback on your coursework and act upon it. If you don’t understand something, ask.

10. Try new things. I didn’t really know what lacrosse was before university, bar the one scene in Wild Child, now the majority of friends are from lacrosse. Lots of universities will have development squads or try sport opportunities.

11. Try the new things straight away. It is much easier to integrate when no one knows anyone. Although don’t let this stop you if you find a new society later on.

12. Leave time for you. Work is important but so is your mental health.

13. I know it is first year but if you have a career path in mind look out for first year schemes or internships.

14. Look out for interesting talks on campus related to your field.

15. Keep on top of your emails. Download a separate app on your phone. This is a great way to read about opportunities available. Lots of courses have weekly newsletters.

16. Have you considered a year abroad? Think about what university you might want to go to and what grade you need. First year does matter.

How should you take notes? I think this is highly dependent on your course but try to find what works best for you early. Handwritten or computer. Word document or OneNote. Download the resources your university provides you such as Microsoft Office. Find your shorthand. Also, probably my best tip, make sure to put your phone and computer on DO NOT DISTURB before a lecture. The best way to leave time for yourself is to be truly present and engaged when on campus and in lectures.

University is all about finding a balance. There is so much more to university than education (albeit this is very important). I learnt and still continue to learn so much about myself at university through friends, society and my year abroad. I wouldn’t say I have changed massively since going to university, but I have become more certain of myself and confident about what I want to do in life and who I want to be in my life.

Before I close, I would like to say thank you to all of you who commented and helped me make my post. Also, a special thanks to all of my friends at university who continue to make my university experience amazing. That’s enough of that.

I hope this was somewhat helpful although this is by no means a fully-fledged list. Comment if you have any other advice and don’t hesitate to ask me questions.

Reference: If you are a fan of The High Low or just Dolly Alderton, go check out her post below. https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/c115b226-b482-11ea-809a-a9cf0f6249f6 (you do need a subscription, but it is free for a month- it is worth it.)


48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Lockdown lifted and the shifting personal priorities.

Just as I got into the swing of it. Lockdown ended. Priorities have altered from a complete focus on getting a training contract to having now a social life (in person that is). Even though I thorough

"Alexa, What is AI?"

Artificial Intelligence. It is a term that we hear a lot. AI does this, AI does that but what really is AI? I am certainly guilty of shouting ‘Alexa’ at my echo dot to complete simple tasks, such as ‘

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page