top of page
Search
  • Abbie Bauckham

Priorities when considering a Training Contract

Updated: Apr 21, 2020

After too many weeks of being rather unproductive in lockdown, I decided to properly start my next round of training contract applications. There is always something refreshing about a Monday. Well, the last few weeks haven't completely been unproductive, I have read more books in two weeks than I have in 2020, painted the kitchen and mostly become skilled at doing rather little. I have started to look at commercial law firms' webinars to improve my commercial awareness. Webinars also give me something to break up the day and cement a plan in my rather under used diary.


Either this week will be one of productivity or another week of planned but unfulfilled actions. I have not had much success in my other TC applications, so how am I going to approach these applications in a different manner to hopefully change the outcomes? I am going to change my mindset. If lockdown has taught me anything it is that the days are very long, although sometimes little can be done in 24 hours. Is this career something I want to spend hours, days and even years doing? Is this the right career for me or is this just something which I think I want to or should want to do after a law degree? Do I want to be a solicitor, or was it just more suited to me than a barrister? Do I want to be a commercial solicitor, or was this just my preferred sector? I want to make sure that I am in a career that I love, where I don't just work but thrive. A career which I can pursue all of my personal and professional goals.


All of the above questions I have given thought to before and whilst I decided being a barrister wasn't for me, I am not sure I ever understood why a solicitor was. I have experienced lots of different sectors of law and whilst experiencing family, criminal law and knowing I wasn't suited to them, I haven't fully experienced commercial law to an extent to allow me to be certain it is the correct route. How will I ever fully know if commercial law is for me if I cannot get a vacation scheme before my TC? One thing I do know is that I love studying and researching the law. I am certain a LLB Law degree was the right degree for me. It has allowed me to use my analytic mindset in a practical way, which I couldn't experience in my A-Levels. Even on my placement at No5 Chambers, where I was certain that the typical advisory work of a solicitor was more suited to myself opposed to the advocacy involved in being a barrister, I still enjoyed learning about and experiencing new aspects of law. Maybe, I don't need to be certain of a particular sector of commercial/corporate law as long as I am certain that this is the area which is suited to me. The TC allows for you to experience four seats and experience some of the sectors which I think I would most enjoy and work best in. If I am certain that a commercial firm is right for me then how can I decide which firm?


Another thing I have tried to change during this round of applications is how I approach the applications. Rather than why would that firm want me, I am looking at what firm would I thrive best in? As being successful not only improves motivation and performance but also your mental health and attitude towards your career. It shouldn't be a privilege to love your job, it should be common. Employee satisfactions is proven to have a positive correlation in relation to company performance and productivity (LSE Business Review, 2019).

I have come up with my top five considerations when looking at which firm I would be best suited to and they are by no means in order:

1. Secondments.

2. Retention Rate.

3. Corporate responsibility (how environmentally friendly they are and the opportunities for pro bono).

4. Female equality (Partner and associate percentages are useful when looking at this).

5. Nature of deals.


I have decided to only apply for international and multinational global law firms. An international firm is important to me because it opens up opportunities for international work, secondments during your training contract, wide range of jurisdictional work and exposure to different cultures and people. The Covid-19 pandemic has meant that I have had to return home from my year abroad early. This experience has been amazing in relation to learning about cross-jurisdictional law and I have been able to look at comparisons of the UK's and Canadian legal system (both based on the common law (bar Quebec which is based on the Civil Law tradition). It has also demonstrated to me how much I love travelling. Living abroad is different from the usual travels, being surrounded by a different culture albeit Canada is not too far from our own, I have been able to experience the indigenous blocks which Canada was founded. I do not want my career to prevent me from exploring the globe and experiencing more of what is currently unknown to me. I want a career which this can be embedded into. As a commercial lawyer at an international law firm I hope to incorporate my passion for the law and for experiencing different cultures and communities whilst continually developing my jurisdictional knowledge.


Top firms for international secondments are (Legal Cheek):

1. White & Case (100%)

2. Baker McKenzie (90%)

3. Allen & Overy (80%)

4. Shearman & Sterling (62%)


Retention rate is something which may seem unimportant as it is only relevant after the TC has ended, however I believe it say a lot about what a firm thinks about and treats their trainees. Also, it says a lot about how you view your career and future with that firm. Perhaps a good trainee retention rate means your ideals about your future match with the firms?


It is important that your priorities match the firms. What do you care about in your everyday life? Does the firm you are applying for share your values? The environment and the fight towards correcting climate change is very important to me. This is an important factor that I need to look into. How can you work for a firm which doesn't hold your core values? Another important factor is a firm's Pro Bono work and commitments to free legal education for students and local communities. Pro Bono work is something which I have been involved in throughout my university experience and next year I am going to be the Chair of the University of Birmingham's Pro Bono Group. This is something I do not want to give up when pursuing my career of a commercial solicitor.


It still troubles me that in 2020 and during the fourth wave of feminism that women have to consider how they can have a career as well as a family. At the age of 20 I certainly do not want to start a family any time soon, but I am sure that I want a family one day. Hence, I need to look at a firm which is seriously considering how they can ensure women can have a successful career and a happy family. Even though this is not a problem exclusively for businesses and the legal sector, for example globally 75% of unpaid work is done by women (McKinsey Global Institute, 2015) demonstrating that women are still expected to pick up the majority of caring and household roles at home as well as having paid work. It is something which commercial law firms need to incorporate within their business plans to ensure women can become successful associates and partners at top tier law firms not at the expense of their personal lives. It is evident that many law firms are considering equal representation of women at higher levels, being able to distinguish between those who are doing it for as 'lip service' and those who truly want to further women's careers and allowing them to have families is essential when picking which firm is right for me. Pinsent Mason and Baker McKenzie respectively, have 31% and 30% women partners in the UK. This figure whilst still shockingly low is on the higher end in the legal field according to Legal Cheek. Irwin Mitchell records 44% of their partners being female. These figures might be higher than ten years ago they are certainly not high enough. Something I will save for another blog, as it could not possibly be done justice in one paragraph and should not be brushed over. Looking at a firm's diversity initiatives is certainly one which I will be researching further.


Lastly, the nature of deals is essential when looking at a firm (again something which should be looked into in much more depth). Do you want to be involved in big international deals or local deals which directly impact your local community? Do you want a mixture of both? Location of a firm also affects the nature of deals. Regionals sectors, such as Birmingham, are growing and should not be written off when you want to work with big firms and on large deals. I have my heart on London, not only for the nature of deals but the commercial world and my ability to commute during my training contract and LPC. Size of the firm will also alter the nature of deals. A firm's practice areas, sectors and industry areas are crucial when looking at deals.


These are just the five things which I deem most important, there are so many more which may be better suited to you. I hope this has helped someone and if not it has certainly clarified what I want from a TC, a firm and my future career. Good luck with your applications.


Abbie

164 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

What I wish I knew as a fresher?

If lockdown has been useful for one thing, other than the need to restrict growth of the pandemic, it has been reflection. Having lots of extra time on my hands has been the perfect time for personal

Lockdown lifted and the shifting personal priorities.

Just as I got into the swing of it. Lockdown ended. Priorities have altered from a complete focus on getting a training contract to having now a social life (in person that is). Even though I thorough

"Alexa, What is AI?"

Artificial Intelligence. It is a term that we hear a lot. AI does this, AI does that but what really is AI? I am certainly guilty of shouting ‘Alexa’ at my echo dot to complete simple tasks, such as ‘

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page