top of page
Search
  • Abbie Bauckham

Why a blog?


Throughout the summer I was stressing about not having a vacation scheme for the summer and how was I going to improve my application for this year’s set of applications. This was all before considering how applications would work whilst I was across the Atlantic, that is if I get an interview. So, in an attempt to organise my thoughts and create a plan, I thought I would write it down. Considering I am a to do list type of girl, I thought it could not hurt. At first, I had the vision I could create a diary as a way to document my thoughts and to organise my applications. Then it dawned on me, surely others’ feel this way too? And so, the idea of this blog was born. My way of sharing with myself and you - if anyone actually reads this- my struggles and plans to succeed and get a vacation scheme for the summer of 2020.

I plan to write about my previous failures, how I hope to overcome them, my year abroad and perhaps some legal controversies as they appear. But, largely, my plan and approach to applying for vacation schemes and training contracts. This blog is by no means advice. If I had advice worth listening to, I would be sitting typing this with a training contract offer or with a vacation scheme under my belt. Instead, this is a means for me to express and document my year and my plans for the application process. I hope that this blog or at least my attempt at one, will be a way for you to hear about others’ unsuccessful attempts and highlight that you are not alone. There must be others out there, but we don’t ever write LinkedIn posts about that do we? (The topic of my next blog post.)

I have to admit, I was thinking about starting my blog in September, and as you can tell it is now December, but I was held back by the fear of failure. The writing of the blog is fine, but it is not a blog until someone else reads it (and my best friend does not count.) Even though, it is a few months later than I had planned, and vacation scheme deadlines are looming, I have to start somewhere. So here it is. Enjoy.

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

What I wish I knew as a fresher?

If lockdown has been useful for one thing, other than the need to restrict growth of the pandemic, it has been reflection. Having lots of extra time on my hands has been the perfect time for personal

Lockdown lifted and the shifting personal priorities.

Just as I got into the swing of it. Lockdown ended. Priorities have altered from a complete focus on getting a training contract to having now a social life (in person that is). Even though I thorough

"Alexa, What is AI?"

Artificial Intelligence. It is a term that we hear a lot. AI does this, AI does that but what really is AI? I am certainly guilty of shouting ‘Alexa’ at my echo dot to complete simple tasks, such as ‘

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page