top of page
Search
  • Abbie Bauckham

Why Commercial Law?

Are you having a flashback to a training contract or vacation scheme application? For some this might be a pleasant experience, for others it will bring with it a dread and an overwhelming sense of uncertainty. Uncertainty as to whether your answer is the one commercial law firms are looking for...


Over these last few weeks I have participated in numerous webinars, listened to podcasts and read many legal articles. This question is one which always comes up. It is always asked as if there is a correct answer. I used to think there was. For many of us who study LLB Law, there is normally a correct answer and I think this is what we try to seek before answering and submitting our training contract applications. We seek out something, some source to tell us the answer or to notify us our answer is right. This need for clarity and certainty is something which cannot be found.


Why Commercial Law? The answer is different for all of us. We all have different experiences as to why we want a career in commercial law. Some of us may have parents in the field, others have grown to love business and some of us might not be quite sure. All of these are okay. It is all a part of your story, the road behind the creation of your commercial law 'map'.


I was not one of those kids who always knew they wanted to be a lawyer, why would I have been, I was not exposed to the line of work as a child as I do not have any family or family friends in the field. We are, however, all exposed to the law everyday and becoming aware of this was definitely a part of my journey. Originally, I wanted to be an interior designer (but then I realised I needed some sort of artistic talent - people that know me will be quick to agree that this is not one of my many talents). I could have been a doctor but my love for Grey's Anatomy did not match my love of chemistry, physics and maths (biology would have been my only saving grace.)


I started to go to the Crown Court during my enrichment periods (a school period where you could do anything that would further your future career goals). Criminal law opportunities are something which I found easier to get as you can explore them on your own opposed to being tied to a company. This opportunity and research for my extended project highlighted my want to study Law further. After my hard work and determination, I won the future's week competition at school to gain three days work experience at a local regional law firm, Tees. The competition required students to create a new law, and my proposition was with the intention to encourage thirty minutes of reading each day. On reflection I accepted this would have been nearly impossible to implement, but certainly the educational, emotional and creative benefits of reading are still of importance. During my placement, I was exposed to the considerations and proceedings within family and employment law. I was thrilled to practice some advocacy skills when presenting my client’s case in a mock trial for a child arrangements order. This experience I gained with Tees confirmed to me my passion to pursue a career in Law.


Whilst I have gained experience in law and the commercial environment of a law firm, I have yet to have experience commercial law sectors. These experiences in family and criminal law (I also have other experiences at the Crown Prosecution Service and HRS Family Law) have confirmed my love for the law. Whilst I enjoyed the nature of the work such as drafting letter of advice, filling in documentation, interviewing and communicating with clients, I did feel that the local nature and impact of the work was right for me. Although all of this work has a fundamental and indescribable impact on the family, victim or accused in question, this is typically as far as it goes. The outcome isn't impacted by the economy, climate change, oil prices, competition laws. I want to be able to see the impact beyond the immediate vicinity and see the effect the decisions one company makes has on the economy and the global business market.


For example, has Covid-19 created the opportunity for renewables to save the economy as well as climate change? With increased investment in renewable energy the recovery of the economy could be aided. Creating 42 million more jobs in the sector over 30 years (TBU, Think Commercial Podcast). With business, like Shell, changing climate goals to ease pressure from shareholders and fossil fuels hitting record lows and even oil hitting negative prices, could this be the time for governments to invest in renewables? Not only increasing the economy but helping towards the meeting of their national climate targets. The interconnected and ever changing nature of business means companies are posed with problems and potential solutions everyday.


The international nature of commercial law and opportunities to work with international law firms is something which also appeals to me. International deals and the nature of cross jurisdictional work demonstrates the span of work and reach. More than 70% of Baker McKenzie's deals are cross border, highlighting the truly international nature of the firm (2019 Annual Report). Not only does the international reach appeal to me, but learning about alternative countries practices and cultures is one which I find fascinating. Not only does culture affect social ways of living but it impacts business. Culture drives peoples behaviour, innovation and customer service (Deloitte, 2016). The ability to experiences different cultures not only allows you to meet new people but enhances effective communication amongst your clients. With this improved communication you can truly understand your clients business goals and hence provide them with the best advice and solutions which are culturally as well as commercially informed.


Commercial law firms are renowned for having long working hours. Hard work has never scared me. In fact, I think I thrive and gain purpose when I have lots of work. The nature of the work excites me and hence I will be motivated to work, even if it is longer than the typical 9 to 5.

The law has so many avenues, so if commercial law isn't for you it doesn't mean law is not. I had to try a lot of avenues before I landed on commercial law. If commercial law is for you, just be honest. Reflect upon why you want to work for a commercial law firm. It has taken me a couple of application cycles to really get to grips with why commercial law and how to express this on paper. And, by no means is it perfect, but it is better and that is a start.


PS: Attending commercial law firms open days is a great way to get an insight into their firm and the commercial environment. Below are pictures of myself at Allen & Overy and Clifford Chance open days last year.









192 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

What I wish I knew as a fresher?

If lockdown has been useful for one thing, other than the need to restrict growth of the pandemic, it has been reflection. Having lots of extra time on my hands has been the perfect time for personal

Lockdown lifted and the shifting personal priorities.

Just as I got into the swing of it. Lockdown ended. Priorities have altered from a complete focus on getting a training contract to having now a social life (in person that is). Even though I thorough

"Alexa, What is AI?"

Artificial Intelligence. It is a term that we hear a lot. AI does this, AI does that but what really is AI? I am certainly guilty of shouting ‘Alexa’ at my echo dot to complete simple tasks, such as ‘

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page